After drawing the sun through the Telescope in the daytime at ULO in the summer, I waited patiently for winter when I would have the opportunity to draw the moon.

In October, when the clocks had gone back, I went to ULO at 6pm on a tuesday evening. The weather forecast was clear skies, but when I arrived it was clouding over. I waited, hoping the sky would clear, but it remained cloudy, so I joined the Astronomy 3rd Year BA course. The students where tracking stars, nebulae and planets using a computer programe.

I asked some of the students about their experience of drawing through the telescope when they where in the first year. Most agreed that drawing helped them to remember and locate their subject, and said they enjoyed the experience.

I visited ULO a second evening in November, again it was cloudy, but the sky cleared for an hour and a half which gave me the opportunity to observe the moon using the 1852 telescope. The astronomy technician opened the dome and positioned the telescope to observe the moon. I climbed a ladder, covered one eye and began drawing.

I couldn’t really see what I was doing because it was dark, so I just concentrated on observing the moon and hoped that the marks I was making on the copper where holding together. The longer I was observing, the more I could see and as I was drawing I began drawing comparisons between the forms of the moon and forms I have drawn previously in minerals.

Here is the first drawing I made of the moon-

After an hour and a bit the clouds covered again and it was impossible to observe.

