I have been drawing from the Rock room in UCL geology department for a long time so this was my first port of call to enquire about drawing activity in the subject.

Scattered around the halls and teaching rooms of the department there are a number of Lewis’ engravings and drawings of volcanoes, geological maps and microscopic imagery of curious minerals. These images has inspired me to research into the history of geological drawings which led to finding the wonderful works of john Emslie, J.Hulley and William Hamilton among others.

 

I found a drawing of haemoglobin of the brain by R.Hooper which reminded me so much of a particular haematite specimen I had seen at UCL and so I decided to recreate the drawing of the brain(a zoological specimen) with haematite (a mineral specimen) because of their anatomical resemblances to one another.

This piece of work would not have been possible had I not the experience of exploring the rock room collections over the past year. When looking at a landscape I could recall the forms of minerals I had previously drawn or looked at and could vividly imagine how the scene could be re-composed through replacing the large with the small.

I brought the images in to show curator Emma Passmore and together we sourced specimens that bore resemblances to the forms in the landscapes. I began drawing some stalagmites in comparison to “comparative mountains of the world by john Emslie” but as I drew them I realised they looked more like strange calcified trees than mountains and so the work changed. I later found flint arrowheads which resembled Emslies mountain study.

.

